Home>Watersheds>Au Sable River

The Au Sable River Watershed

The Au Sable River Watershed drains 1,932 square miles and covers parts of eight counties (Otsego, Crawford, Montmorency, Roscommon, Ogemaw, Oscoda, Iosco and Alcona). The Au Sable River begins at the confluence of Kolke and Bradford creeks, about 2 miles north of Frederic in northwest Crawford County, and eventually empties into Lake Huron near the town of Oscoda.

A classic groundwater-fed resource, the watershed receives heavy use and faces increased development pressures, since it is especially susceptible and sensitive to impacts from sedimentation, fluctuating water flows, and increased water temperature. 

Click here to find Road/Stream Crossings.
Click here to find Streambank Erosion Sites.
Click here to find Small Dams. 

This page last updated on 11/7/2018.